Author Topic: Diamondback DB15CCB Rifle Journal  (Read 35858 times)

superbeau

• Red Diamond
Diamondback DB15CCB Rifle Journal
« on: February 25, 2017, 01:40:06 PM »
Hey team! I'm new here, and just purchased my first AR, so forgive any ignorance you spot in this thread. I just wanted a place where I could share some lessons learned and ask questions for others who have picked up this same gun. It's probably important to share that my main purpose for this rifle is coyote and hog hunting, more so than competitions or a range toy. I also wanted to keep costs to a minimum, so I'll be looking for stuff that works but I'm willing to sacrifice that last 20% in function to save 50% in cost.

Since I'm new to the whole AR world, I wanted to start with something entry-level and affordable, but plan to build something nicer in the future. That said, after a bunch of research and gun-holding at my local stores, I decided on the Diamondback DB15CCB. I picked one up for about $500 at Rural King, which I would never have thought of as a gun shop, but they had great prices, $10 shipping on guns, and a smooth process to order online and then pickup at their store.

My initial impression of the rifle was that it was a nice balance between raw basics, and simple but useful upgrades. There was a little wobble in the stock when fully extended and a tiny bit of "play" between the upper and lower receivers, but nothing that caused concern. The edges on the rails were a bit sharp, but I'm usually hunting with gloves on, so that didn't bother me either. It came with a collapsible stock, dust cover, A2 flash hider, 16" barrel, and quad rail. It felt well balanced in the shoulder and I liked the way that it looked, so it was a good start right out of the box.